A Recap of My EDS 113 Learning Experience

EDS 113 is one of the hardest subjects that I have ever encountered so far in my PTC course.  I was overwhelmed by the articles that I have to read and the requirements that I have to submit.  However, the experience was worthwhile.  I have learned a lot in this course through the materials that I have read, through my discussions and collaborations with my classmates, and through the guidance of my professor.  I am certain that I will incorporate a lot of what I have learned in my current teaching methods.

I will be summarizing my evaluation of my learning experience in EDS 113 through a rubrics chart:

Rating 5

Rating 4

Rating 3

Rating 2

Rating 1

Is able not only to do the output well but to go beyond what is   required in the course. Is able to do what is expected with superior quality. Had done satisfactory what is needed. Had demonstrated poor output. Had no tangible output.
Goal-Setting

X

Explanation:My goal is to know about what assessment is about and how to do it   well.  With the materials and activities   that were given to me, I can really say that I was able to achieve my goal.
Self-Monitoring

X

Explanation:My rating in this area is 5 because I have actually learned a lot   more than I hoped for.

What do I already KNOW?

I already know that   assessment is an integral part of education and it is important to do it   well.

What do I WANT to know?

I want to know   how to make an accurate assessment.

What have I actually LEARNED?

I actually   learned that in order to craft an accurate assessment, it should be:

ü    Aligned with the learning objectives

ü    Reliable and valid

ü    Have well-constructed items

ü    Measures the skills that are intended to   measure

Strategizing and Redirecting

X

Explanation:I admit that my planning to achieve my goals were not as good as I   would have wanted to.  Like I said   earlier, I was too overwhelmed with the work that I was not able to pace   myself correctly.

Eventually, I will just take this as a learning experience and hope   to do better in my time-management and pacing of my work and requirements.

Overall, I view my learning experience in EDS 113 a worthwhile endeavor.  Through the skills that I learned from the course, I will use them to be a better educator in the future.

Leave a comment